Blog Archives


Disc 1: PURPLE

  • A1: Time Has Come 10’00”
  • B1: Time Has Come (Sprinkles Overdub) 10’00”

Disc 2: BLUE

  • C1: Chumps 12’18”
  • D1: Chumps (Sprinkles Overdub) 13’03”


Press text:

45 Minute doublepack featuring some of the most engrossing House music you’ll likely hear this year or any other – First in a series of three releases pairing original material by Will Long with DJ Sprinkles’ overdubs.

Tokyo, Japan-based American artists, Will Long and DJ Sprinkles, present sublime, durational deep house studies examining the dancefloor in light of contemporary socio-political inequalities and failed illusions of ‘Revolution’ and ‘Progression’.

It begins a series of three vinyl sets and eventually a 2CD package that effectively compare deep house’s original, economical aesthetics and function as the soundtrack to marginalised society, with its current position; repackaging and overproducing the same old ideas with empty sloganeering, operating as the catalyst of social trends, rather than an agent of social transformation.

They both make their point subtly but clearly. Two sides feature extended 10+ minute tracks by Will Long, created using relatively minimal means of rhythm composer percussion, polyphonic synth chords, and rack sampler vocals, while the other two sides provide overdub Sprinkles versions.

The beautifully absorbing results – which sound miles away from Long’s gentler ambient and experimental work – prove that it is possible to elicit subtle yet optimal responses with a well-selected palette of grooves and samples, in this case from Jesse Jackson and Rap Brown, rather than current vogue for showmanship and more-as-more arrangements.

DJ Sprinkles’ overdubbed contributions quite literally and psycho-acoustically resonate that intention, tactfully rending a farther, lush physicality and soulfulness thru deftly applied daubs of glutinous subbass pressure, airy strings and subtly shimmering FX, really offsetting Long’s trax in a whole other dimension; and via disciplined, stripped-down, full-bodied production values that rank as perhaps the deepest yet in Sprinkles’ already perfectly formed canon.

They could be taken as a call for humbleness and meditative efficiency over cliched buildups and preening vanities, perhaps a comment on “deep” house as the equivalent of a fresh tattoo or sweatshop t-shirt slogan.

Because, you know, it really does stand for a lot more.


Available as:

  • 2LP vinyl edition


Track list:

Disc 1:

  1. Time Has Come 10’00”
  2. Chumps 12’18”
  3. Under-Currents 9’36”
  4. Get In & Stay In 9’57”
  5. Pigs 10’54”
  6. Daylight & Dark 11’28”
  7. That’s What They Understand 10’27”

Disc 2:

  1. Time Has Come (Sprinkles Overdub) 10’00”
  2. Chumps (Sprinkles Overdub) 13’03”
  3. Under-Currents (Sprinkles Overdub) 11’04”
  4. Get In & Stay In (Sprinkles Overdub) 9’57”
  5. Pigs (Sprinkles Overdub) 10’54”
  6. Daylight & Dark (Sprinkles Overdub) 11’24”
  7. That’s What They Understand (Sprinkles Overdub) 10’27”


Press text:
We live in an era when ‘change’ is a soundbite to sell more of the same old ideas, and ‘revolution’ has more to do with social trends than social transformation. Will Long’s deep house debut on Comatonse Recordings examines that pack of lies dubbed ‘change’ from the sweaty dancefloor, sounding the aftermath of failure around attempts at equality in ‘progressive’ societies. Made with a simple setup of rhythm composer percussion, polyphonic synth chords, and rack sampler vocals, these tracks have a minimal rawness that contends we’ve been wrong the whole time about how far the US – and the world – has come. Although these tracks are sonically unlike anything Long has produced as Celer or his other aliases for minimal and ambient experimental audio, they share a stripped-yet-full sound that reacts against overproduction – within the dance music industry, and societies at large. Each track is accompanied by an overdub from DJ Sprinkles, and the packaging features illustrations by Tsuji Aiko.

Available as:

  • 2CD edition with foldout poster