Track list:
1 Mouthfeels Of Capreae
2 Polaroid Family Portrait
3 Unequal Temperament
4 Ascensionaires
5 A Pause
6 An Erne Of A Sigh
7 With Ice, Anent The Steam
8 We Missed You Favonian
9 Listen To The Inverted Sounds, Falling
10 Op.0
11 Is Lands
12 Bracelets Passed To Spanish Hands
13 Paired Plateaus
14 When Ice Makes You Weep
15 Transposing Piano
16 In Characteristic Form
17 Transcribe This Past
18 Still Running
19 In A Past Of Haze, These Beaches
20 I’ve Got My Love To Keep Me Warm
21 Sonata For Dual, Unaccompanied Piano
22 Craven Gardens
23 Lint White
24 Others World
25 Symtolomny
26 Anacapri
27 Lists Of Sycophants And Wishing
28 Rich Telescopes
29 A Sorted Ending

Release description:
“Capri” by Celer is a beautiful 78-minute work, containing 29 tracks full of piano, strings, horns, acoustic guitar, field recordings and the warm breeze of the Mediterranean sea.

All the material for this record was created on Capri, an Italian island on the south side of the Gulf of Naples, during a short summer residency, giving the tracks a very mild and summery feeling. Listening recalls walking near the harbor waves, the salty wind sweeping up the streets, the decayed dwellings set against pristine resorts, and the deep colors of the Blue Grotto.

Field recording material is hidden, but in the foreground, just shaded and processed into a breeze. But the warm droning and compact sound carries the spirit of summer-night on a island very, very well. Recorded in a single room with a piano and a few borrowed instruments, and processed either outside a cafe or half-sleeping during the stay, the resulting tracks are only quiet reflections of short experiences.

Like all Celer releases you can hear these slowly evolving melodies, first hidden through a slight haze, but getting sharper and clear by-and-by. Some of the shorter tracks are just sketches or fragments, found in the streets blowing by, carried through the air to your ear. The sounds mirror the merest moments, where every tone fits, is left to uncurl, each detail is well considered, and is set with a very high sensibility, haunting the hills and harbor outside the quiet, sleeping Capri.

Track list:
Side A
1 Opening Titles (Before Morning)
2 Bitter Light and Anticipating a Day Heat (The Isolated)
3 The Spilling; Romantic Goodbye (The Lovers)
4 Meticulous and Exact Methods of an Exhausted Dreamer (A Rooftop Hour)
5 Binoculars, a Telephone, and Fear (The Note)

Side B
6 Intermission (Afternoon, Don’t End)
7 Guiding Lights (Split-screen Comparison)
8 Bass Punctures (The Pressure Urge)
9 Lofty Swells (An Impending Advance)
10 Impossible Escape (The Amicable Understanding)
11 Finale (After Midnight)

Release description:
A few years ago I was commissioned by a film company in California to create a musical score for a film inspired by the Hitchcock 1954 film Rear Window, but with a more surrealist, two-sided viewer plot. As filming hadn’t begun, I was given the screenplay and timeline, and asked to make specific music that might fit with the themes in those pages, which also included an overture, intermission, and exit music. I recorded the music at home and in a studio provided by the film company in Silverlake, California, and finished a week before the first draft deadline was to be submitted. Surprisingly, before I even delivered any of the music, I was informed that the entire project was cancelled. Several years later, the score for the film of the same title is finally seeing the light of day. It is available on vinyl in an edition of 300 copies by the label Humming Conch from Berlin, with cover art by Peter Lograsso.
– Will Long, 2013