Track list:
1 A Once And Meaningful Life
2 Remaining Stretches
3 Separations And Reactions
4 Doubts Of Words
5 Unless They Were Beautiful
6 In the Bright the Days
7 If Disabuse Is So Hard, Then
8 What Our Mouths Make Them
9 Hanging Herself On The Lonely Fifth Column (Gramophones That Remind Us Of What Sounds Once Were)
10 Openings Of Love (Fireworks)
11 Extended Sways Of Silence
12 A Once And Meaningful Life (Original single disc version)
13 Remaining Stretches (Original single disc version)
14 Separations And Reactions (Original single disc version)
15 Doubts Of Words (Original single disc version)
16 Unless They Were Beautiful (Original single disc version)
17 What Our Mouths Make Them (Original single disc version)
18 Hanging Herself On The Lonely Fifth Column (Gramophones That Remind Us Of What Sounds Once Were) (Original single disc version)
19 Openings Of Love (Fireworks) (Original single disc version)
20 Extended Sways Of Silence (Original single disc version)


Release description:
Originally released on CD in 2009, Engaged Touches has been expanded from the original recordings for a 3LP edition, spanning 5 sides of vinyl, and a 3CD edition of the same expanded version, as well as the original single disc version. All have been remastered by Stephan Mathieu for this special limited edition.

Track list:
1 This Thinking Globe Exploding
2 The Carved God Is Gone; Waking Above The Pileus Clouds
3 Stargazing Lily Lacks The Flower
4 Retranslating The Upside-Down Mountain
5 A Crush, A Hero-Worship & Hyperrealism
6 The Separation Of The Two-Phased Apple Blossoms
7 Delaying The Entropy; In Emptiness, Forms Are Born

Release description:

Remastered by Stephan Mathieu.

Disc 1: YELLOW

  • A1: Pigs 10’54”
  • B1: Pigs (Sprinkles Overdub) 10’54”

Disc 2: IVORY

  • C1: Daylight & Dark 11’28”
  • D1: Daylight & Dark (Sprinkles Overdub) 11’24”

Disc 3: RUST

  • E1: That’s What They Understand 10’27”
  • F1: That’s What They Understand (Sprinkles Overdub) 10’27”

Press text:
Will Long X DJ Sprinkles’ journey to the heart of deep house culminates in the third and final volume in a series of three, offering the broadest yet most subtle, spine-tingling session of the lot, presenting the former’s raw and ‘floor-ready originals backed by the latter’s inimitably sumptuous overdubs.

Conceptually rooted in the queer, black politics of NYC’s late ‘80s and early ‘90s house scene – where Terre Thaemlitz cut her teeth as DJ Sprinkles – the series can be viewed as a vital reminder of that scene’s original values and sense of social democracy, especially when contrasted with the glut of contemporary, commodified representations of that music which sorely miss the mark, or weren’t even aware of the scene’s provenance to begin with.

Make no mistake, though; this is no lecture or snub at younger producers making deep house. Rather, it is evidence of the original form’s latent potential to still generate rare, precious feelings which have been lost or glossed over with subsequent, detached and over-produced translations of its original syntax and intent.

Deep” is the key word here on many levels, from their poignant use of historical samples by civil rights pioneers Bayard Rustin, Jesse Jackson and Kathleen Cleaver, to the unfiltered innocence of Will Long’s productions and Sprinkles’ corresponding, pensile overdubs, which make utterly incredible use of the frequency spectrum to reveal acres of space in the upper registers and, on the other hand, an honestly breathtaking application of layered subbass tones that are just impossible to describe.

This one’s a little bit special…

Available as:

  • 3LP vinyl edition